Local author to visit Pelsall library

Walsall author Mick Power is to visit Pelsall Library next month to talk about his new book, Podger’s Farm.

The book describes Mick’s childhood on a small urban farm in Pleck, from the mid 1930s up until 1950, which was when the farm was knocked down. It covers his life through the years which he describes as “a great adventure”.

“I wrote Podger`s Farm as a family history after being prompted by my children,” said Mick.

“Over the years I had often thought of doing it but because of my lack of written English decided not to. I’ve kept a daily diary for over 40 years and the spelling in them can best be described as imaginative. In 2005 I acquired a computer and when I found the spell checker, I was away.

“It was a pity I wrote the first 20,000 words before I found I was on English US instead of English GB! However it gave the kids a good laugh.”

Mick will be appearing at Pelsall library on Wednesday, May 4, 2011 from 5pm to 6pm.

This entry was posted in Home Page, News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

