Marathon effort for Endometriosis UK

A Pelsall woman is hoping to raise cash and raise awareness of a painful gynaecological condition when she runs the Brighton marathon in April.

Natalie Gallagher has suffered from endometriosis since she was in her teens, but it was diagnosed only in 2006 when she underwent surgery.

Natalie Gallagher, who is running the Brighton marathon for Endometriosis UK

Now she is racing for Endometriosis UK, a charity that supports thousands of women and their families every year who have the condition.

Natalie, who only took up running in May last year and completed the Birmingham half marathon in October, was told she might not be able to have children because of the condition.

“Endometriosis affected every part of my life and when at its worse meant that I couldn’t work,” she said.

“I was told that due to the condition I would probably not have children, but after surgery in 2006 and again in 2009 I became pregnant and have my little girl, who is now five, and my little boy, who’s 18 months.

“Since I have had the children my symptoms have really improved and the endometriosis has been in remission, but in the last few months I’ve started to get a few warning signs that the condition is worsening again so feel that this is my year to do the marathon while I can as the next move for me will be a full hysterectomy.”

Natalie has set up a Just Giving page for those wishing to support her and the charity.

This entry was posted in Home Page, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

